Student Scholarships

ARIDO Scholarships

ARIDO Scholarships

The Norma Ruth Ridley Scholarship

The Norma Ruth Ridley Scholarship, previously the ARIDO Provincial Scholarship, honors interior design students who display impeccable professionalism and ethics and who understand the importance of good business practices and professional standards. Applicants are judged in five areas: academic achievement, professionalism, community involvement, character and communication. Program Chairs from each ARIDO-recognized school may submit the name of one student to be considered for the $2,000 scholarship, presented each year at the ARIDO's Annual General Meeting.
2019 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientCourtney Clarke - Algonquin College  
2018 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientKimberly Czornodolskyj - Humber College
2017 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientCaitlin Cohen - RCC Institute
2016 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientEmily Ceh - Sheridan College
2014 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientSamantha Lostracco - Fanshawe College
2013 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientVictor Chan - Ryerson University
2012 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientJustine Baltessen - Algonquin College
2011 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientMelanie Alexander - Sheridan College
2009 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientKelly Hatfield - Ryerson University
2008 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientJenny Neilson - Algonquin College
2007 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientShannon Moschenross - International Academy of Design
Jessica Graveline - Algonquin College
2006 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientKatherine Treash - International Academy of Design
2005 Norma Ruth Ridley recipientKaren Herlt - International Academy of Design

CTI Working Environments Student Scholarship

The CTI Working Environments Student Scholarship awards students who go beyond the written curriculum. The students best exemplify dedication and enthusiasm in giving back to their community and volunteering for ARIDO. The monies raised at from CTI's annual Signatures event is graciously donated to the scholarship. Three scholarships of $500 each are awarded to the students.
2019 CTI Scholarship RecipientsCourtney Clarke - Algonquin College
Janny Do
- Yorkville University
Tara Kenney - Fanshawe College
James Knapton - Algonquin College
Kathryn Lawrence - Sheridan College
2018 CTI Scholarship recipientStephanie Morawietzn - Conestoga College
Kalmn Simmons - Algonquin College
Victoria Styrna - Sheridan College
2017 CTI Scholarship recipientsJessica Drolet - Algonquin College
Joel Hunking - Ryerson University
2016 CTI Scholarship recipientsBrooke Anderson - Algonquin College
Kourtney Madeley - OCAD University
Amy Schell - Conestoga College
Heather Woods - Sheridan College
2015 CTI Scholarship recipientsMila Berti - Sheridan College
Francesca Lango - International Academy of Design
Marwa Talal - Algonquin College
2014 CTI Scholarship recipientsAlyssa Aiello - Algonquin College
Murray G. Allen-Brousseau - Ryerson University
Caroline Cheam - Fanshawe College
2013 CTI Scholarship recipientsEllise Crouter - International Academy of Design
Rebecca Courtice - Algonquin College
2012 CTI Scholarship recipientsErin Cunningham - Ryerson University
Catherine Langlois - La Cité collégiale
Amelia Mathieson - Algonquin College
2011 CTI Scholarship recipientsMarti Hawkins - Ryerson University
Melissa Pfluegl - Georgian College
Lindsay Wiebe - Sheridan College
2010 CTI Scholarship recipientsJosiane Burelle - La Cité collégiale
Elizabeth Seidl - Sheridan College
Jane Tranter - Fanshawe College
2009 CTI Scholarship recipientsAndrew Donald - Sheridan College
Mélissa Lehoux - La Cité collégiale

The Harvest House Craftsmen Award

The Harvest House Craftsmen Award recognizes five interior designers who have recently completed their NCIDQ exam and achieved the highest combined examination score for that examination year. Each recipient is given a $1,000 cash award in recognition of their outstanding professional accomplishment.
2009 Harvest House Craftsmen Award recipientsJennifer Hann
Finny Halim
Julie Hawkins
Meghan McBride
Barbara Steele
2008 Harvest House Craftsmen Award recipientsHelena Da Costa
Karen Hohenadel
Lisa Johnson-Poirier
Terry Ann Ledger
Wayne Swadron
The Gary Hewson Memorial Award
The Gary Hewson Scholarship was created in memory of an individual who touched the lives of many in Ontario’s interior design community. The award will be presented each fall to one interior design student from each of ARIDO's recognized interior design programs who has shown exemplary peer mentorship, leadership, and volunteerism in their community. The winners receive a ticket to the ARIDO Awards Gala.

2019 Award Recipients

Christine Belanger - Fanshawe College
Haneih Ahani - Yorkville University
Jesse Wyman - Algonquin College
Leah Lorentz - Conestoga College
Noor Omar Saleh - Sheridan College

2018 Award Recipients
Taylor Wintle - Conestoga College
Lily Donald
- Humber College
Tara Kenney - Fanshawe College
Lauren Flynn - RCC Institute
James Knapton - Algonquin College
Tracee Allison Jia - OCADU
Zoya Yahya - Sheridan College

ARIDO Art Appreciation Scholarship, in partnership with Doner-Turrin Inc.

The ARIDO Art Appreciation Scholarship in partnership with Doner-Turrin Inc awards $500 to a first year student in an ARIDO recognized Interior Design program. Open to all first year interior design students, students apply by submitting an application about a piece of art of their choice and its placement in a specific space.

ARIDO would like to extend our appreciation to Rachel Doner-Turrin for her support of young designers and the advancement of the Interior Design profession. Owned and operated by Rachel Doner-Turrin, Doner-Turrin Inc is an art consultancy that provides interior designers with art sourcing support, installation, framing advice and more.

Katelyn Vahi - Georgian College